Giving Back.

I attended an event yesterday honoring scholars in the Birmingham area. It got me to thinking about how important it is to have help along the way in order to succeed.

I’ve read countless books, articles and talked to many people and no one did it alone.

See, we need people. We need positive people in our lives that will be honest, yet compassionate. I’ve been blessed with great people who have had a positive impact on my life.

When I say I want to make a difference, I mean doing so in the lives of youth. You see, this is where it starts. Having a commitment to building a foundation for those that come after you. Some folk are so selfish though. Only looking out for themselves. Smh. It can only last for awhile, not forever.

Young folk have a warped view of the world today. Most think that it is reward first, work later instead of work first, then reward. I have worked as a Career Services Director for a college and I saw this every day. You’d be surprised at the things I heard students say. But the great thing about being a mentor to students: you can tell them the truth about personal and professional development. It’s what they need to hear.

Lots of people think they are a big deal. I’m not impressed unless there is proof that you are doing something to build others up around you. That’s just my opinion.

Just getting tired of seeing folks only looking out for themselves. I know someone out there feels me…

Leave a comment